From Patience to Patients

How I balance life as a homeschool mom who also works outside the home.

We Are But a Mist

Leave a comment

mistSometimes I get so caught up in this world and all the things that are going on, big or small issues, that I tend to forget why we are ultimately here. I tend to forget just how short our life on this earth really is in retrospect to eternity in heaven. I tend to dwell on the problems of today and the uncertainty of the future instead of holding onto our God, who wants us to set our eyes on what is unseen. (2 Corinthians 4:18) I tend to base my value on what the world thinks of me instead of what my Creator knows about me, who knows me inside and out.

“You have searched me, Lord, and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely. You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.” Psalm 139:1-6

I wish we had some sort of switch in our brains that we could immediately turn on whenever we needed an extra boost of God in our minds that would lead directly to our hearts, filling us up with His love and holiness, like an energy charge. There are so many days that I let the world consume my energy, where I feel like I have nothing left to give to God. I don’t like to feel emptied out. I want to be filled with the Spirit.

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” Ephesians 3:16-19

We can get so easily entangled with the world and think that we have to make a good life for ourselves here, or forget that there is a better life to come that is much more grandiose than our wildest dreams. We can forget our mission in life-to help seek and save the lost. We can easily forget we are His hands and feet, His voice, His love. Sometimes I need to take a step back and reset my mind and heart to align with His, so I can have Christ’s love overflowing in me. Oh, how I get so wrapped up in this world sometimes-what it offers-that I forget how much more Christ offers us, and how everything else pales in comparison. I live in this world, but I do not have to be of this world. I am just passing through, here and gone like a mist.

Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them. For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever.” 1 John 2:15-17

God is still working on me. I am not to completion yet, but with every breath I breathe, I feel I am growing stronger and closer to my God, and that’s exactly where I want to be. The world can have its “stuff”, because I have something better waiting for me in heaven. I am His, and He is mine and there’s nothing in this world that is going to change that!

Leave a comment